Home > Review > Review – S.H. Figuarts Piccolo

Review – S.H. Figuarts Piccolo

December 14, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

S.H. Figuarts Piccolo \(ªª)/

S.H. Figuarts Piccolo

I’m a Dragon Ball fan, it was the manga series that got me really into manga/anime, art, and resulted in my career as an artist.  I’ve read the 42 volume manga at least 10 times now, it’s that inspirational to me.  So purchasing this figure was no question.  So sit back, grab yourself a drink and enjoy this review of BANDAI’s  S.H. Figuarts Piccolo.  Unfortunately for DB fans everywhere (manga mostly) like me, this figure has one minor flaw… READ ON!

One thing I look for when I check out figurines is the posability.   Most of the figures, except 1 or 2, in my collection have movable joints because I love the ability to pose my action figures any which way I like.  I’ve never taken notice in S.H. Figuarts, “Simple and Heroic Figure + Arts”, mainly because I never really was a huge fan of Kamen Rider… (don’t hate me >_<;).  I’ve started reading up on S.H. Figuarts when they announced Piccolo and SSJ Goku.  I’ve read that lots of people don’t like the addition of Dragon Ball figures to the series, but I for one am glad!

Packaging

Box Front

So the packaging is your usual figure box with a little window in the center to see what you’re getting.  I kinda like the toned down graphics on the box.

Box Back

The back of the box is a little more interesting, with a couple of pictures of Piccolo with some brief (very brief) descriptions in japanese of Piccolo’s character and some features of the figure itself.

Contents

Package Contents

Content wise, it’s quite packed with alternate parts.  The box contains the figure itself, 2x alternate heads (one with the turban and one with a veiny angry face), 2x open palm hands, 2x claw hands, 1x Special Beam Cannon right hand, 1x crossed arm attachment, 2x pieces of the front part of the cape piece (one normal and one for the crossed arms), and the awesome shoulder pad cape!  I think they did a great job in the accessories department with including same styled hands for BOTH the left and right sides which a lot of other figures don’t include.

Figure Shots

Crossed arms makes Piccolo look crossed.

The figure can pose, oh boy can it pose, and it’s also sturdy just as BANDAI promotes with their S.H. Figuarts series of figures.  I’ve had no problems with balancing the figure to stand upright except a few times when Piccolo has the heavy cape on.  The sculpting is pretty good, and changing the interchangable hands is simple enough without much force required.  Notice I said hands only, the head is a bugger to change.

S.H. Figuarts Piccolo Back View

For the preliminary product shots I only saw the front of the figure and knowing most of the DB characters wear baggy pants, I wondered how they’d work the knees.  I’m not exactly disappointed at the dent they made at the back of the knees and I understand that really is the only way to still make it bend.  The general articulation of the figure is great, but I worry with all my figures when the joints will start to give out and become loose.  Only time will tell.

Thanks to Piccolo, the shoulder pad fad should be coming back in no time!

Here’s the cape piece, I love it, it makes Piccolo who Piccolo is.  Despite it’s heaviness, the figure can still stand with a little effort in balancing.  As you can guess, the arms are not movable when Piccolo has the cape on which makes sense.  It fits really well to the figure too, really snug, like a straitjacket.  The crossed arms is also a great addition as it was one of the character’s staple poses in the series.  Unfortunately it’s a real tight squeeze to make the crossed arms fit, but when it does, it looks damn cool.

Likes

POSABILITY!  The fact that it’s posable and a character from Dragon Ball makes me want it.  The number of alternative parts is great and it can do a lot of the poses Piccolo does in the series.

Dislikes

Oh boy, here it is, the dislikes section…  I never really watched the anime for Dragon Ball (some Dragon Ball fanboy I am huh) , so this was quite the surprise to me when I first saw that the this Piccolo has 5 fingers instead of 4.  It’s really fanboy nitpicking, but I do understand that this figure is based on the new Dragon Ball Kai anime out in Japan now and apparently in the anime Piccolo has 5 digits.  *sigh* I’ll leave the digit issue with his digits alone now…  Anyways, other than that flaw I am not a fan of the purple shoulder pieces that is supposed to be a part of his top.  For posability’s sake, it’s required that it has to be attached to Piccolo’s shoulder, but at the same time because it moves with the shoulder, at certain angles his arm would show under that purple shouder piece and it just looks really awkward.  There were a few times I had to angle the figure just right to make sure there wasn’t this issue when taking pictures.

Notes

I’m sure there are other Dragon Ball fans out there that want to get this figure.  I don’t know how well it’s selling, but it seems to get restocked real fast.  If you can let go of the fact that Piccolo has an extra finger, like Dragon Ball, Piccolo, or have a fetish for the planet Namek, pick up this figure!  I recommend it! I got my figure at Hobby Link Japan.

Hobby Link Japan @ ¥3,500 (plus shipping)

HobbySearch @ ¥3,325 (plus shipping) Restocked twice I think already!

Piccolo's Special Beam Pose, complete with missing left arm...Piccolo’s Special Beam Cannon pose, complete with missing left arm and veiny forehead!

Score

4.5 out of 5 – This is a highly recommended figure from me, especially fans of the series.  It has great articulation and the figure is super sturdy.  Despite some balancing issues with the heavy cape, it shouldn’t be an issue at all as every figure will have balancing issues with a heavy accessory.  I’m glad BANDAI included Dragon Ball Kai into their S.H. Figuarts series of figures and I hope they continue to make even more characters from the series in the future!  I know I can’t wait for SSJ Goku to arrive next year!

  1. Henrik
    January 12, 2010 at 4:53 AM

    After a bit of a hiatus from the Japanese figure scene, I only realised Dragon Ball characters were being released in Figuarts line yesterday. Piccolo is en route as I type. Nice review, enjoyed it.

    Dragon Ball has been lacking decent-sized and quality articulated figures for a while now so these are great. The Hybrid Actions were okay but a little small and flimsy. Definitely picking up SSJ Goku and fingers crossed for an in-scale Vegeta next. Should the assortment include an Tenshinhan down the line, I’d be delighted.

    • January 12, 2010 at 1:53 PM

      Thanks for reading the review, I’m glad you enjoyed it. (^_^)

      I agree that Dragon Ball has certainly been lacking in the quality articulated figures for a while. With BANDAI creating these S.H. Figuarts products as well releasing 1/8 scale models, it’s going to be a great time to get some quality Dragon Ball stuff. It would also be great to include some of the less pronounced characters from DB such has Tenshinhan, they really deserve some recognition. I’m crossing my fingers for Vegeta or Nappa myself!

  2. Henrik
    January 13, 2010 at 5:30 AM

    Yeah, I can only imagine that the SSJ Goku was released in Figuarts so as not to overlap with the release of the Master Grade regular Goku model.

    I ploughed through every volume of DB last year after buying the two big box sets so it’s still quite fresh in my mind. A Vegeta in full Saiyan armour with removable scouter would be an instant pre-order for me also.

  3. April 8, 2012 at 10:19 PM

    hello there and thanks on your information ? I have definitely picked up something new from proper here. I did on the other hand experience several technical points using this website, since I skilled to reload the website lots of occasions prior to I may get it to load properly. I had been puzzling over if your web hosting is OK? Now not that I’m complaining, however sluggish loading circumstances occasions will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am including this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you replace this once more very soon..

  4. June 27, 2012 at 6:53 AM

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with helpful info to work on. You’ve done a formidable process and our entire neighborhood will probably be thankful to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

