Home > Art > Art – Happy Holidays 2009!

Art – Happy Holidays 2009!

December 23, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Happy Holidays! \(°3°)/

Happy Holidays 2009! ART

It’s almost the end of December so I’ll wish everyone a happy holiday 2009!  To celebrate this occasion and to celebrate my break from work, I’ve done a little holiday 2009 image for everyone.  This will be a short post about the process of how I created this image.  I hope you enjoy it because I certainly enjoyed making it!  This image was done in Photoshop, read on!

Line ArtRough Line Art

*Click on the image to see a larger version!*

So here’s the initial sketch, nothing too fancy.  I originally wanted to draw something on my break, but didn’t really have any clue on what my subject matter was.  I went the easy route and began sketching some Christmas related thing.  I normally draw full figures or scenes, but I wanted to take a break from that and do a portrait instead.  This was a casual piece so I didn’t do any long winded concepts for it.  This is what I sketched out first, and this is what I went with.  My main goal with the image was to have some sort of portrait of a girl in non-traditional santa garb with a scarf that would look cool.

Coloring

Initial Color

*Click on the image to see a larger version!*

After I was happy with the sketch and thought it had enough general detail for me to play around with later, I started my intial colouring.  At this point, all I really know is that the hat and the coat would be red and white.  For the other colours I would just try out different hues to see if they would match.  As you can see, it’s very loose at this stage because I wasn’t worried about making it look perfect, colour choice was more important.  Once the general colours were chosen I started on a new layer and filling in some of the details.

Initial Shading Light Source

*Click on the image to see a larger version!*

Before doing anymore colouring, I decided on a general light source so I would get some idea on where light was coming from in the portrait.  At this point, I was playing around with the scarf and went wacko with it.  I didn’t go with traditional fabric.  They look more like metallic tentacles to me and I thought, “Why not?”.  Also because of the thick eyebrow I gave the character and lowered it closer to her eye, it started to look a little masculine.  I didn’t want to give up on thick eyebrows, so I thought to myself what would make it look a little more like a girl.  MAKE UP! That’s it!

Overall Shadow Added

*Click on the image to see a larger version!*

I don’t really like drawing too much makeup on females as I don’t like the look of overly maked up females.  I do when it’s needed, but even still, it’s very light.  I coloured in a little bit of her lips and added a little eyeshadow.  I also added an overall shadow to the picture to make the shading a little more consistent with the image as a whole.

Final Image

Merry Christmas 2009!

*Click on the image to see 150dpi version!*

After the coloring is done and complete, add a few sprinkles of snow, a dash of salt and pepper and a good save (if you do anything on the computer, please save often…) this is what the final image looks like.  The original size of this image is 8.5 inches x 11 inches at 300dpi so I could print it on paper.  After being cropped, I dunno the size anymore.  This may look like a simple portrait, but it still took me 3 and a half – 4 hours to complete.

I hope you all enjoy this first art post because there’s gonna be other ones in the future!  Have a safe and happy holiday people! \(^_^)/

Categories: Art Tags: , , , ,
  1. December 23, 2009 at 8:07 AM

    Sweet! An art post! I really like the style you have going. Even though you’re saying that it looks like a simple portrait, I can say that it looks like you put in quite the number of hours, as it looks very well polished.

    The only thing I’m not so fond of is the strange metallic scarf. It looks incredibly cold to wear, which is opposite of its real function. It also detracts from the face, I think.

    I’m really digging the color values. The pink color looks really nice, and very fitting for the dainty lady.

    I used to do some sort of xmas illustration every year before. But after a few years, I started lacking time. Last year was the first time I did a figure photoshop xmas image, and it looks like I’ll be doing another one of those this year too.

    Merry Christmas!

    … now that I look at it some more, I think I see why your girl looks like a boy. Thick brows. If you put your thumb over the brow in the pre-makeup image, you’ll see she already looks feminine. You may want to consider fixing her brow.

    • December 23, 2009 at 4:30 PM

      Thanks man, I appreciate you commenting and Merry Christmas to you too! \(^_^)/

      Compared to my past works it is considerably much more simple. Sometimes I do spend a lot of time polishing because I like polished art work. 3 – 4 hours of work on one piece is already less than half of what I usually do anyways.

      I agree with your take on the metallic scarf. After working around with it, it’s become an entity of its own. Its certainly the part of the image I spent most of the time on. I don’t really look at it as a scarf anymore, but more of an alien tenticle entity wrapped around her neck. Yay for Christmas tenticles!

      I also love how it turned out with the colors. It’s mostly the work of Photoshop and some color balancing, so all I did was play around with the sliders. A goal of mine for the future is to do the adjustments without actually playing around with filters. Thinking of doing that already makes my head hurt. (-_-)

      Time is an issue, since I’m on Christmas break from work I had time to do this. Otherwise future art posts would be a lot less frequent. I did have the idea of doing simple sketches more, but in the end knowing how I work simple sketches turn to multiple hours of drawing.

      I pretty much knew it was because of the thick brow that makes a feminine character look like much more masculine, but I still went with it. Mostly because I know it will look feminine with a thinner brow, so I wanted something less conventional. Thick eyebrowed girls need more attention! K-ON Tsumugi FTW!

  2. January 10, 2010 at 3:12 AM

    Congratulation! I like very much fan art, and this one is really in accordance with this year period ! It is really a very attractive drawing!

    • January 10, 2010 at 3:31 AM

      Thanks! Yea I drew this during my Christmas break from work, it’s really nice to draw something that isn’t based on what somebody else wants. It is kinda soothing (^_^)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

