Home > Art > Art – Snowball Fight

Art – Snowball Fight

December 29, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Snowball Fight ¹(ªωª)¹

Snowball Fight Art

I’m in a sketchy mood today.  This is not really a sketch as it is more polished than a sketch.  I drew another semi-winter themed image.  As it’s not really snowing at all in Vancouver, I reminice the days of snowball fights and this image is aptly named so.  This will be a relatively short post as I didn’t really do much coloring or shading.  Just line work… Read on!

Line Work

Rough Sketch*Click image to see a larger version!*

Originally it wasn’t really a snow-themed image, as I was actually trying to sketch out the Monkey King epically riding his cloud.  Then I gave the character boobs and it became what you see above.  I’m also a fan of goggles and headphones on female characters.  It’s one of those things I like to incorporate into my images if I think it works.  Another thing I tend to do is sketch out nude figures so I can plan out how clothing would fit on them as well as make sure the proportions are correct.  For this image though I didn’t really do much proportion checking because it was more of a quick sketch than anything.  It makes it much easier to visualize the clothing rather than drawing the clothing on right away.  Especially for more baggier clothing such as the fur jacket I’m giving her.

Cleaning Up and Detail

Clean Up

*Click image to see a larger version!*

After the general outline of the image is set, I went ahead and cleaned up what needed to be cleaned up and put in the details of the figure.  For the clothing, I referenced multiple fashion images I found on the internets.  References are always good, it adds an extra flair when drawing characters based off of real life images.  I am not a fashion designer so there are lots of things I miss when trying to draw my own designed clothing on characters.  It’s also good practice translating something in real life onto a drawing.  After I used the reference, I added some of my own touches to what she’s wearing to make it so that there’s a little bit of my own work in the design.Details Added*Click image to see a larger version!*

At this point, I’m pretty happy with the result.  Though I’m not really good at backgrounds, I try what I can to add something there to fill up the white space.  White space is fine and all when design permits, but having a background is always good if not better.  As a result, I added some random dragon head and some crappy mountains and clouds.  It adds a little bit of depth to the image and makes it a whole lotta epic especially with the dragon head.

Final Image

Snowball Fight*Click image to see a larger version!*

I’ve added a little bit of colour and cropped the picture, but I think this is a perfect example of an overworked image.  I like it better when it was just monotone and taller, as the space gives the image some breathing room.  Until next time…

Categories: Art Tags: , ,
  1. December 29, 2009 at 11:02 AM

    Now THAT is awesome. Your character reminds me a bit like Neku from The World Ends With You. I actually thought the dragon head was some stylized evergreen trees bent sideways. That would actually theme quite well with the arcing wave of snow. I love your stylization. I think the color actually helps bring more depth to the image and isn’t overworked at all, since it’s been limited to the snow. If you had added color to the character as well, then it would be overworked.

    If you want better looking backgrounds, try adding some perspective in the sky with more layers. Right now, even though you do have “a background” that background is pretty flat…

    Man, this makes me wanna draw again!

    Awesome work, and Happy New Year!

    • December 31, 2009 at 4:43 PM

      Thanks dude!

      I’ve only attempted to play The World Ends With You, but it wasn’t my type of game sadly. After your comment about the stylized evergreen tree, it sort of makes sense now. I’ve never looked at it that way and yes it would fit the image more than the dragon head. Dragon heads are still awesome…

      I really appreciate your comment about loving the stylization. It’s my dream to truly find my very own style of art. I don’t think I am at the point where I can say a style is my own, but I can say I am starting to see that I am beginning to see something.

      A weakness I have as an artist is really letting go of something and taking a step back and look at the image as a whole. Even though I have a weakness in overworking an image I’m getting better at actively stopping myself from doing that to images. Great tip for doing backgrounds. I haven’t done anything to improve my skills doing backgrounds, maybe that will be a new years resolution I should make. Perspective is a good way to start, thanks!

      You really should draw again, not that your figure photoshops are anything weak, it’d be a good change of pace. Though for sure, probably much more time intensive. Happy New Year! (^_^)

  2. January 10, 2010 at 3:14 AM

    Impressive! I am really impressed! Once a month, I make an article on the “elected representatives of the month” (photo, drawing, figure and others). By discovering your site, I found which would be one of my favourite January drawings. Congratulation!!

    • January 10, 2010 at 3:37 AM

      Hahah, wow! Thanks! I dunno what to say, now I gotta check out your site! \(^_^)/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

