Home > Review > Review – Nendoroid Yui Hirasawa

Review – Nendoroid Yui Hirasawa

Nendoroid Yui Hirasawa ׀(´ω`)/

Nendoroid Yui Hirasawa

Happy new year my dedicated readers!…all 4 of you…  K-ON was one of the newer anime I’ve seen recently that I really enjoyed.  My tastes in anime has certainly changed quite a lot over the years and my newest interest is more of the “slice of life” genres of anime.  I tend to get figures of characters I know, so there was no question that this Nendoroid Yui would be in my collection someday.  This is my review of Nendoroid Yui Hirasawa from GSC!

Packaging

Packaging Front*Click on image to see a larger version!*

I’m not going to go into a whole lot about the packaging because it’s your standard fair in Nendoroid packaging.  This time it’s pink and has a quite cute musical motif in the background.  The back features some figure shots of Yui in different expressions and accessories.

Contents

Package Contents*Click on image to see a larger version!*

There’s a quite a number of extra parts in this box.  The box contains the Nendoroid itself, 2x alternate faces (one determined and one super sad), 2x right arms (one holding a guitar pick), 1x left arm for holding the neck of the guitar, 2x hands (one left one right), 2x bent legs, 1x amp, 1x guitar with strap, and 1x stand in the shape of bear ears.  I find it interesting that GSC made custom stands for the K-ON Nendoroids, who wouldn’t want to be held up with a stand in the shape of bear ears!?

Figure Shots

Bu-i! Bu-i!*Click on image to see a larger version!*

This Nendoroid isn’t particularly detailed, but the figure has this simple styling that the series has and it matches really well.  The ribbon in front of her neck is a nice detail.  Sometimes simplicity is key, even though I would like to see a little bit more detail.

Rockin'*Click on image to see a larger version!*

Detailed wise the guitar and the amp are the highlight of this figure.  They’re small, but they are packed full of detailing.  The guitar itself is very nicely scaled down version of the Gibson Les Paul electric guitar that Yui plays in the series.  Now I wonder why I didn’t take more closeups of the guitar… (>_>)

Side View*Click on image to see a larger version!*

The stand for this figure is the new GSC trend of  fitting onto the back of the legs.  I worried that it might be too loose, but it fits nicely and is able to easily support the Nendoroid and balance the weight of the massive head.

Back View*Click on image to see a larger version!*

The back view is nothing too special, but I decided to take a picture anyways.  The two points of hair sticking out does make the figure a little more dynamic looking though.

Likes

Smirk ;)*Click on image to see a larger version!*

Despite the simplicity, I really like this Nendoroid.  Early product shots I saw didn’t impress me that much and I thought the figure was reflecting light a little bit too much for my tastes.  I ended up preordering the whole K-ON Nendoroid set out of a whim.  I don’t regret it at all as I really like the series.  The facial expressions are very distinct between each other which is great.  I also really enjoy the details of the guitar and I like the number of extra parts the box contains.  The bear ear shaped stand is a cute touch to an already cute Nendoroid.

Dislikes

Sad Face :(*Click on image to see a larger version!*

To be honest, I really don’t have any MAJOR dislikes about Nendoroid Yui.  Not just saying that because Yui is giving me that face…  The only downfall is getting the rest of the K-ON Nendoroid set because why buy just one?  Yui will be lonely…

Notes

I got this figure, like most of my other figures, at Hobby Search.  I tried searching for the other shops like HLJ or e2046, but weirdly no search results came up.  I don’t know what’s going on.

Hobby Search @ ¥3,167 (plus shipping)

I really like the figure and I think it would be a great addition to anyone’s figure collection especially if they’re a fan of K-ON!

Peekaboo!Everyone, “WELCOME YUI!” (who’s that outside the window?)

Hi!*Saber Lily and Yoko come to welcome the new kid on the block*

O_OYui, “WHA!?” (What is about to happen!?)

Score

4.2 out of 5 – I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again.  This figure is recommended, but if you get Yui, you’ll probably be getting Mio (if you haven’t already gotten her yet), Ritsu, and Tsumugi.  That’s quite the chunk of change if you ask me.  I’ve already decided to do so.  Will you?

So what exactly did Saber Lily and Yoko do to Yui?

Tako Luka InfestationTako Luka!

BONUS BONUS BONUS – Tako Luka Character Charm MINI REVIEW!!!

Most people who buy this won’t even be using it for what it’s intended, but that’s alright because it’s Tako Luka… Tako Luka is awesome so GET IT, end of story.

Hobby Link Japan @ ¥762 – Tako Luka Smiling / Burst Out Laughing / Drool Face (my favorite)

HobbySearch @ ¥723 – Tako Luka Smiling / Burst Out Laughing / Drool Face (still my favorite)

  1. January 10, 2010 at 2:38 AM

    By curiosity, i click your Avatar on Radiant website comments and i’m nicely surprised by your site.

    I like Yui’s review who’s my favorite K-on character but also for all the 4 nendos of the band which i found the cutest.
    I also ordered the all 4 so Yui’s not alone.

    Tako Luka are soooooooooo cute.

    Do Saber Lyli and Yoko will exterminate them to save Yui ????

    • January 10, 2010 at 3:50 AM

      Thanks for checking out my site! I’m glad I’m not alone for preordering all the other K-ON Nendoroids because I thought Yui would be lonely.

      Yui is one of my favorite characters in K-ON, Mio is my first, but sadly I didn’t pre-order Mio thinking I could get it later. What a mistake that was.

      Tako Luka is adorable! I also pre-ordered the Nendoroid Luka, so I’ll get my fourth Tako Luka. I can’t wait!

      You’ll just have to wait and see what happens to Yui! Heehee \(ˆω˚)

      • January 10, 2010 at 5:13 AM

        I really like small nendos stories 🙂
        Too bad for Mio. But i’m sure you’ll be able to get it later on a restocking.
        I received mine few days ago and she’s really cute.

        Haaaa. You also pre-ordered Luka! Can’t wait for it. I sense it will be an great nendo 🙂

        Looking forward the following of the story 🙂

  2. January 10, 2010 at 3:06 AM

    Thank for this review ^^ I prefer Mio who is my favorite character (I had the Nendoroid version and pre-ordered Alter and Movic version). But Yui Nendoroid face are really funny and faithfull at the character ^^ She is funny and a little stupide (It is that what makes its charm)

    • January 10, 2010 at 3:54 AM

      Mio is also my favorite, I don’t know why since I am not the type to like tsunderes. GSC has definitely done a great job on capturing the essence of Yui and yes, being a little stupid is what I like most about her. (=ω=)

      • January 10, 2010 at 7:49 AM

        I like.. hum I love tsndere ! They are so cute and funny ^^

  3. January 10, 2010 at 3:26 AM

    I wanted to correct “Tako Luka” and my comment was validated twice… very sorry.

    • January 10, 2010 at 3:52 AM

      No worries, I removed your first comment with the spelling mistake. (^_^)

      • January 10, 2010 at 5:14 AM

        Thanks alot 😉

  4. January 10, 2010 at 3:48 PM

    Yui!!! She’s so cuuute! Mine still hasn’t arrived yet! ;_;

    I preordered the whole set too. I feel kinda silly doing that since I have yet to watch the series, and I’ve got 13 of these little nendoroids…

    Nice review! Now I really can’t wait!
    Where did you get that diorama set?
    I didn’t get to order Vocaloid Luka! ._. Oh well, from the pattern of voicaloid nendoroids getting restocked, getting a hold of Luka shouldn’t be hard..

    • January 10, 2010 at 7:13 PM

      I’m sure it will come soon enough, you really should watch K-ON! It’s a really good series!

      The diorama set is the Nendoroid School Life set. I got it at Hobby Search as I thought having just a plain white background is kind of boring. It’s not terribly expensive.

      I see the trend of Vocaloid Nendoroids getting restocked a lot of time too, so I agree that it might be easily obtainable. I just want it right away! (^_^)

  5. April 2, 2010 at 5:01 PM

    Mine arrived a few weeks ago. I still haven’t opened her yet, lol. And looks like I haven’t dropped by here for a while ^^; Getting ready for season 2? 🙂

    • April 11, 2010 at 3:10 AM

      my Mio and Ritsu are both in their boxes ready to be opened and Tsumugi is in the mail as I type this! I just watched the first episode of season 2 today and I dunno if it was just me needing my K-ON fix, but I really enjoyed every minute of it. Especially the opening and ending songs! (^_^)b

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

