Home > Art > FanArt – Samus Aran Varia Alternate

FanArt – Samus Aran Varia Alternate

Samus Aran Varia Alternate ©{╦}©

Samus Aran Fanart!

Well it’s been a while hasn’t it?  Apologies to everyone, life’s been busy, but I still had a little time to draw this weekend.  I initially planned to just draw some generic female with long hair flowing in the wind, but it ended up becoming Samus.  Okay, okay, I was playing Pokémon (yeah I add the accent, I had my Character Map open anyways…) Soul Silver the whole time and rewatching Pokémon Indigo League, not a big deal… (>_>)  READ ON LET’S GO!

Line Work

Line Work Sketch*Click the image to see a larger version!*

This is the sketch, I really had a fun time sketching it out.  Earlier today I was re-reading some of my Spider-Man comics I had on my bookshelf.  I really enjoy the art style of Humberto Ramos so I had that in mind when I was doing this image with the proportions.  Of course with my twist on it.  As for the Varia Suit, I looked at some references, but I mostly took some creative liberties on how it looked.  I really like more streamlined armor that wasn’t too bulky.  I decided to make the armor a little more form fitting and change the helmet to a flip up visor type thing.  Please fanboys, no hate mail…

Base Colors

Samus Base Colors*Click the image to see a larger version!*

At first, I really liked the sketchyness of the image and never really thought of coloring the image.  Ended up I did decide to color this or this post would be a whole lot shorter.  To keep it to the lightness of the sketch, I didn’t use solid colors and just brushed in some colors loosely.  Full solid color would make the image look flat and boring, and that’s exactly the opposite of what I want.

Highlights/Rim Lights

Blue Highlights*Click the image to see a larger version!*

Adding rim light to the object in focus will, most of the time if not always, help it pop.  Especially a color that compliments the base colors of your object.  With this image, I used a fairly light blue because of the majority of orange of Samus’ suit.

More Highlights*Click the image to see a larger version!*

Then I added a fair bit of really light violet/magenta highlights on the armor.  Still keeping the brush application loose.

Green Rim Light*Click the image to see a larger version!*

Added some green rim lights to the other edge of Samus.  It’s not necessary, but I just went crazy with it.

Final Image

Final 1920x1200*Click the image to see the original 1920×1200 version!*

After going rim light crazy, I slightly turned up the brightness and contrast; added a more blue-ish hue to the image as a whole and desaturated the image just a slight bit.  The result is what you see above, the final image in all its 1920×1200 glory.  I tend to work with really huge pictures because it’s a nice safety net if I actually do need the image bigger.  You can always scale down large images, but you can never scale up smaller pixel based images unless you want it to look like a pile of pixely ass.

Until next time folks, this is me, signing off for another undetermined amount of time!  I have so many backlogged figures I haven’t even opened!  And Nendoroid Tsumugi is coming in the mail too… \(>_<)/

Categories: Art Tags: , , , ,
  1. April 11, 2010 at 4:37 AM

    wow, this is really cool.
    i like the long hair billowing out

    • April 12, 2010 at 9:40 AM

      Thanks, at first I thought if the hair was just too much, but I guess it turned out okay.

  2. April 11, 2010 at 10:42 PM

    Woah! You come back from a long hiatus with quit the surprise!

    I like that you’re experimenting with a different style. It’s fun doing that (but can be frustrating when things don’t work out like you want).

    The colors you chose are great! They add a very interesting uniqueness to your art. I notice that you tend to choose a lot of these colors in your art, it’s almost like your own signature style!

    I do think that you can push it further though. Don’t get lazy! Keep taking it further!

    1920×1200 isn’t all that high res, if you ask me – I usually work around 3000+, or do A4 at 600dpi to 1200dpi. It’s good practice, not just for safety net, but you can use much finer brushes that way, and get in more detail if you need to. It’s a huge performance hit though.

    I’m still waiting for my Tsugumi too!

    • April 12, 2010 at 9:51 AM

      Thanks dude!

      I do like experimenting with styles as that’s how I learn new techniques. It is just one step towards finding a style I can call my own. It’s really taking a long time though.

      I never really took notice to the colors I use as they’re just colors of the actual character. Maybe they are very similar to what I usually do, but I just haven’t noticed it that much.

      I know I can push it further. I notice I do draw less if I do though and it’s these quick sketches that keep me going because they take stress off rather than give me stress.

      1920×1200 isn’t all that big I agree, it’s just the resolution of my monitor. I usually work bigger than this, but not at 600dpi or 1200dpi. I usually work at 300dpi and I find that’s good enough for me. Can you really find a significant difference with the upped dpi? I usually do it so I can print if I need to.

      I really have to take a break from getting figures, we all know that’s not going to happen though. Congrats on getting Tsumugi, have you even watched K-ON! yet!? (>_<)?

  3. September 11, 2013 at 4:56 AM

    I just like the helpful information you provide to your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again right here regularly. I’m reasonably certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the next!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

