Home > Art > Art – Double Dose!! Space Wurm Attack + Blue Flame Behemoth

Art – Double Dose!! Space Wurm Attack + Blue Flame Behemoth

Space Wurm Attack! + Blue Flame Behemoth (u_u)

SpaceWurmAttackARTANDBlueFlameBehemothART

Well it seems it has been quite a while since my last post.  So apologies are in order! SORRY!  I worked on a few images during this time and I could’ve made two seperate posts.  Then I decided not to since one image was a month old and I feel I owe this blog a little extra care.  Well here goes nothing… READ ON BROTHA!

Space Wurm Attack! Sketch/Rough

Space Wurm Attack!! Sketch/Rough*Click the image to see a larger version!*

A lot of the times, I sketch out an outline for my image, which is a great quick way to do some nice roughing out.  Afterwards I would clean the lines up, but I wanted to try something that didn’t result in obvious outlines being seen.  So instead, I just loosely blot out rough shapes and go with the flow.  I didn’t have any idea what I was going on at this point.

Space Wurm Attack! Sketch/Rough 2*Click the image to see a larger version!*

After the initial blooting of the shapes, I wanted some sort of  battle scene.  I roughly painted a tentacled monster on the left and some soldiers blasting the monster with some laser guns.  PEW! PEW! PEW!  The planet background was added last after I thought the background was a little plain.

Space Wurm Attack! Polish

Space Wurm Attack! Polish*Click the image to see a larger version!*

Next I started detailing the rough shapes with a little bit of texturing, highlights and more defined shadows in on the monster, rocks, and soldiers.  Added a impact effect from a monster attack to make things a little more interesting as well as having the monster take a little bit of battle damage.

Space Wurm Attack! Coloring

Space Wurm Attack! Color*Click the image to see a larger version!*

The best part of creating an image with black and white tones is the coloring.  Since all the tones are supposedly correct, setting a new layer blend mode to ‘Overlay’ and applying a flat color would just cover the colored area without affecting the tone of the image underneath.  Making coloring super easy and has cool color blending effects with just using one or two colors.

Space Wurm Attack! Final

Space Wurm Attack! Final*Click the image to see a larger version!*

Here’s the final image with a little desaturation because the image before was a little too saturated for the look I was going for.

Blue Flamed Behemoth Sketch/Rough

Blue Flame Behemoth Sketch/Rough

With this picture I initially wanted to draw a dragon.  The process was the same as the Space Wurm Attack image I did above, but this time I tried using some textured brushes to see what kind of effects I could get.  I don’t have any experience with creating brushes, so I just used some of the default brushes.  Maybe in the future I’ll try and make some custom brushes to my liking.

Blue Flamed Behemoth Coloring

Blue Flame Behemoth Coloring

It wasn’t until I started coloring the image I noticed how similar it was to an image I did back in 2008.  The similar colors reminded me of it, so I thought it would be a nice comparison to what I could do now and what I did back in 2008.

Blue Flame Behemoth Coloring 2

The coloring process is the same with layers set to ‘Overlay’ and just applying colors loosely over the image.  Coloring will also show you flaws, I found out I should put a more wide range of tones into the front of the dragon so all the detail won’t be lost with a dark color.  I had to tweak the brightness and contrast on that area quite a bit to get the effect I wanted.

Blue Flame Behemoth Final

Blue Flame Behemoth Final

With a few adjustments, here is the final image.  I have to say I really liked the colors in the image before this one, but I toned it down because I tend to do very oversaturated images.  Kinda changes the atmosphere to a much more gloomy one even though it’s still colorful at the same time.

Black Dragon 2008

And here’s the image I did back in 2008 of a dragon breathing blue flames.  I remember at that time I still didn’t have much brush control and haven’t found the right brush settings that suited me.  It was just about a little over a year ago today that I actually found the right brush settings that suited me.

Looking back, I still like what I did, but I can definitely see I have improved a whole lot.  I still have a long way to go though to create much better and more intersting pictures.  At least I know I’m stepping in the right direction… Until next time!

Categories: Art Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. Ernest
    June 21, 2010 at 6:21 AM

    Nice update! “Blue Flame Behemoth Final” reminds me of the art from Blue Dragon…which is a good thing considering that the actual game is a pretty mediocre JRPG.

    • June 21, 2010 at 12:09 PM

      Thanks for the comment! Blue Flame Behemoth does look sorta something that would come out of a more grittier Blue Dragon game. I have to agree that BD wasn’t that good of a RPG. I was more excited that the art was from Akira Toriyama more than anything. 🙂

  2. June 21, 2010 at 4:23 PM

    LEVEL UP!

    Good stuff! I really like the space wurm, and your process works really well, especially when you’re just trying to do some sort of random thing and see what results.

    It looks very good and spontaneously natural. I LIKE!

    Definitely an improvement over last year’s dragon (I remember that one!)

    Keep it up!

    • June 21, 2010 at 4:43 PM

      Thanks dude, I think that’s the effect I wanted to go towards. Making it a little more natural looking. Not hyper realistic mind you, but definitely less comic book-ish with the outlines on everything. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

